Home | My Profile | Sign In  News  Jobs |  Blogs 
About Bihar   |   People  |  Districts |  Advertisement |  Festivals  |   Cultures  |   Religion  |   Important Websites  |  Education  
Bihar Government
Chief Minister
Cabinet ministers
Elected Members
RTI Complaint & Appeal
Govt. Orders & Forms
How Do I Know?
Apply for Aadhar
Obtain a Birth Certificate
Obtain a Driving License
Apply for a Passport
Apply for a Ration Card
Apply for welfare schemes
Online electricity bill payment
Tourism in Bihar
Bihar Diaspora
Embassies & Consulates
Passport / VISA
Study in Bihar
Travel Advisory
Important Contacts
Important URL Links
Indian Railways
Check PNR Status
Reservation Availability
Train Running Information
Chief Electoral Officer
Baba Dham Deoghar
Jharkhand High Court
Jharkhand Govt
Patna High Court
Dept. of Tourism
Bihar Govt
Indian Airlines
Sahara Airlines
Jet Airways
Air Deccan
India Post Office
Indian Passport
Supreme Court of India
IGI Airport, New Delhi

Saran District

The district of Saran falls under the state of Bihar, India. Covering an area of 2,641 sq. kms, Saran has a total population of 25, 72,980. Its headquarters is located at Saran. It is also known as Chapra.

Agriculture is the main stay and paddy, wheat and sugar cane are the major crops grown there. The sugar factories in the region contribute the most to the industrial scenario of Saran.

The Places having Tourist attraction are Aami, Sonepur, Dhorh Ashram, Goutam Asthan, Silhauri, and Chirand.

The historical background of the district as available in Ain-E-Akbari records Saran as one of the six Sarkars( Revenue Divisions) constituting the province of Bihar, At the time of grant of Diwani to the East India company in 1765, there were eight Sarkars including Saran and Champaran. These two were later combined to form a single unit named Saran. Saran(along The historical background of the district- as available in thewith Champaran) was included in the Patna Division when the Commissioner's Divisions were set up in 1829. It was separated from Champaran in 1866 when it (Champaran) was constituted into a separate district. Saran was made a part of Tirhut Division when latter was created in 1908. By this time there were three subdivisions in this district namely Saran, Siwan and Gopalganj. In 1972 each subdivision of the old Saran district became an independent district. The new Saran district after separation of Siwan and Gopalganj still has its headquarters at Chapra.

Various hypothesis have been put forward about the origin of the name SARAN. General Cunningham suggested that Saran was earlier known as SARAN or asylum which was a name given to a stupa (Pillar) built by emperor Ashoka. Another view holds that the name SARAN has been derived from SARANGA- ARANYA or the deer forest, the district being famous for its wide expanses of forest and deer in prehistoric times. The earliest authentic historical fact or record concerning this district may perhaps be related to 898 A.D which suggest that the village of Dighwara dubauli in Saran had supplied a copper plate issued in the reign of king Mahendra

Geographic allocation
The district of Saran is situated between 25°36' and 26°13' North latitude and 84°24' and 85°15' East longitude in the southern post of the newly created Saran Division of North Bihar. The Ganges constitute the Southern boundary of the district beyond which lie the districts of Bhojpur and Patna. To the north of Saran lie districts of Siwan and Gopalganj. The Gandak forms the dividing line with vaishali and Muzaffarpur district in the east. To the west of Saran lies district of Siwan and the district of Balia in Uttar Pradesh, the Ghaghra constituting a natural boundary between Saran and Ballia.

The district is shaped like a triangle with its apex at the confluence of boundary of Gopalganj district and Gandak-Ganga river there are three rivers namely the Ganga, Ghaghra, Gandak which encircle the district from south north east and western side respectively. The district is entirely constituted of plains but there are quite a few depressions and marshes, which cause the formation of three broad natural divisions.

I. The alluvial plains along the big rivers which are subjected to periodic inundation and prone to floods.

II. The region of uplands away from the rivers and not subject to floods.

III. The diara areas in the beds of the great rivers.

Out of twenty blocks in the districts, Six blocks viz Sonepur, Dighwara, Revelganj, Chapra, Manjhi and Dariyapur are affected by floods regularly. There are six partially flood affected blocks Viz. Garkha, Parsa, Marhoura, Amnaur, Jalalpur, and Ekma. The remaining blocks are free from floods. The soil of the district is alluvial. No mineral of economic value is found in the district.


Description Units  Units Description Units  Units
Headquarters: CHAPRA
Total Area: 2641.0 sq. Kms.
Forest Area : 0.0 sq. Kms. Net Sown Area: 1746.18 sq. Kms.
Occupied House: 283.3 '000 Net Irrigation Area : 914.93 sq. Kms.
Total Population 2572.98 '000 Total Literates 845.03 '000
Total Male 1310.63 '000 Total Female 1262.35 '000
Urban Population 234.36 '000 Rural Population 2338.62 '000
Rural Population - Male 1184.83 '000 Rural Population - Female 1153.8 '000
Urban Population - Male 125.81 '000 Urban Population - Female 108.55 '000
Total SC Population 301.31 '000 Total ST Population 3.23 '000
SC Population - Rural 277.22 '000 ST Population - Rural 2.94 '000
SC Population - Urban 24.09 '000 ST Population - Urban 0.29 '000
Total Male Literacy 619.62 '000 Total Female Literacy 225.41 '000
Rural Literates 731.51 '000 Urban Literates 113.52 '000
Rural Literates - Male 544.24 '000 Rural Literates - Female 187.28 '000
Urban Literates - Male 75.38 '000 Urban Literates - Female 38.14 '000
Rural Male Literacy % 58.75 %
Rural Female Literacy % 20.68 %
Urban Male Literacy % 73.1 %
Urban Female Literacy % 44.0 %
Total Workers ('000)
Male Workers ('000)

Find Us On Facebook

Follow Us Google+

Follow Us Twitter
2014: All Rights Reserved