Home | My Profile | Sign In  News  Jobs |  Blogs 
About Bihar   |   People  |  Districts |  Advertisement |  Festivals  |   Cultures  |   Religion  |   Important Websites  |  Education  
Bihar Government
Chief Minister
Cabinet ministers
Elected Members
RTI Complaint & Appeal
Govt. Orders & Forms
How Do I Know?
Apply for Aadhar
Obtain a Birth Certificate
Obtain a Driving License
Apply for a Passport
Apply for a Ration Card
Apply for welfare schemes
Online electricity bill payment
Tourism in Bihar
Bihar Diaspora
Embassies & Consulates
Passport / VISA
Study in Bihar
Travel Advisory
Important Contacts
Important URL Links
Indian Railways
Check PNR Status
Reservation Availability
Train Running Information
Chief Electoral Officer
Baba Dham Deoghar
Jharkhand High Court
Jharkhand Govt
Patna High Court
Dept. of Tourism
Bihar Govt
Indian Airlines
Sahara Airlines
Jet Airways
Air Deccan
India Post Office
Indian Passport
Supreme Court of India
IGI Airport, New Delhi

Patna University


The Patna University was established under an Act of Legislature in 1917. This is first university in Bihar and 7th in India. The university has given the responsibility by the government to administer examinations starting from Matriculation level to Postgraduate level. During its establishment year the University had jurisdiction over Bihar, Orissa and Nepal. In 1952, the Patna University was made a residential University.

From beginning the University has some very well known institutions both professional and non professional attached with it. It has a full-fledged Law College, Teachers’ Training College along with Engineering and Medical Colleges. The University has been a saga of progress, advancement, and excellence in the field of higher education. The University celebrated its Silver Jubilee in 1944 and its Golden Jublee (1967), in the year 1970 with the President of India Sri V. V. Giri as the Chief Guest.

At present the University has 9 Faculties, 32 PG Departments, and 11 Colleges to its credit. In 1974 the University established a Directorate of Distance Education (DDE) so as to provide education to those who cannot attend regular university classes. All the departments of the University are attached with a Departmental / Seminar Library. Besides University also has Central Library to offer best of the learning facilities. The Central Library is linked with INFLIBNET. The University also provides residential accommodation to about 50% of its Male Students and all Female Students.

Patna University has following departments for conduct of different study programs

Department Of Urdu
Department Of Sanskrit
Department Of Maithili
Department Of Bengali
Department Of Arabic
Social Sciences /Humanities /Commerce
Department Of Sociology
Department Of Geography
Department Of Ancient Indian History & Archaeology
Department Of History
Institute Of Psychological Research And Service
Institute Of Public Administration
Department Of Applied Economics And Commerce
Directorate Of Distance Education
Department Of Chemistry
Department Of Botany
Department Of Geology

Patna University has some of the Best Colleges attached with it. Following is given the list of these colleges.

Patna Women's College
Patna College
Bihar College Of Engineering
Science College
Magadh Mahila College
Patna Law College
Women's Training College
Vanijya Mahavidyala
College of Arts & Crafts

Address: Patna University Patna - 800 005 Bihar
Tel: Proctor
Phone No. -0612 - 2670816 (Off.)
Registrar :
Phone No. (0612)-2670531 (Off),
Finance Officer
Phone No. (0612)-2670851 (Off).
Deputy Registrar
Phone No. (0612)-2670853 (Off).
Assistant Registrar
Phone No. (0612)-2670852 (Off),
Vice Chancellor: Prof.(Dr.) Syed Ehteshamuddin
Tel : 0612 - 2670352 (Off.), 2278877 (R)
Fax : 0612 - 2670877
E-Mail :
Registrar: Dr. Vibhash Kumar Yadav
Tel : (0612)-2670531 (Off), 2670664 (R)

Find Us On Facebook

Follow Us Google+

Follow Us Twitter
2014: All Rights Reserved